Research projects

2018-2019 “Toxicity within the Dead by Daylight (Behaviour Interactive, 2016) gaming community”

This research project primarily aims to describe the origins of toxicity in the Dead by Daylight (Behaviour Interactive, 2016) community. More specifically, it seeks to identify enabling factors for toxic relationships between individual players or factions within the community through an analysis of the interface, game mechanics, in-game behavior (big data sets analysis), out-game discussions on socialization platforms (textual data analysis), and declarative data (survey).

2018-2023 “Big Data and video games : using big data sets to analyze an online gaming community”

This research project investigates identity, communicational, and social dynamics within online gaming communities using hybrid methods at the intersection of qualitative analysis (semiotic analysis of online platforms, laboratory analysis of gaming sessions, semi-directed interviews, group interviews, etc.) and quantitative analysis (manual or automated analysis of in-game data and out-game, online communication data). This project also seeks to critically examine the way in which big data and artificial intelligence are applied to the study of gaming communities while formulating a semiotic analysis of key concepts and technologies in these fields.

2017-2020 “Analyzing users’ practices on Classcraft’s gamification platform”

This research project’s general objective is to document and analyze how Classcraft is implemented and used in primary and secondary level classrooms. More specifically, it seeks to describe how teachers, students, and parents use the platform, as well as evaluate their assessment of the platform while studying their Classcraft and social media habits in class and online. To this end, this project uses a range of research methods: semiotic analysis of the platform, non-participatory in-class observation, individual interviews, surveys, an analysis teachers’ social media usage, and an analysis of big data sets produced on the platform.

en_CAEN
fr_CAFR en_CAEN

Recherches

2018-2019 « Toxicité au sein de la communauté de joueurs de Dead by Daylight (Behaviour Interactive, 2016) »

L’objectif général de ce projet est décrire les sources de toxicité entre les joueurs de la communauté du jeu vidéo Dead by Daylight (2016) de Behaviour. Plus précisément, il s’agit d'identifier les facteurs qui favorisent des rapports toxiques entre certains joueurs ou certaines sous-communautés de joueurs en étudiant l'interface et les mécaniques du jeu, les comportements en jeu (analyse de données massives), les discussions hors-jeu sur les plateformes de socialisation (analyse de données textuelles) et par des données déclaratives (sondage).

2018-2023 « Big Data et jeux vidéo: usage des données massives pour l’analyse d’une communauté de joueurs en ligne »

L’objectif général de cette recherche est d’analyser les dynamiques identitaires, communicationnelles et sociales des communautés de joueurs de jeux vidéo en ligne grâce à une méthodologie mixte utilisant des approches qualitatives (analyse sémiotique des plateformes, analyse de séances de jeu en laboratoire, entretiens semi-dirigés, entretiens de groupes, etc.) et quantitatives basées sur l’analyse automatisée ou non des données produites en jeu et sur les plateformes de communication en ligne. La recherche vise par ailleurs une articulation sémiotique et critique de l'utilisation des technologies et des concepts propres aux études basées sur les données massives et à l’intelligence artificielle avec les études sur les communautés de joueurs.

2017-2020 « Analyse des pratiques des utilisateurs de la plateforme de ludification Classcraft »

L’objectif général est de documenter et analyser l’implantation et l’utilisation Classcraft dans les classes du primaire et du secondaire. Plus précisément, la recherche vise à décrire l’utilisation de la plateforme par le corps enseignant, les élèves et les parents et à évaluer leur appréciation en étudiant leurs pratiques en classe et en ligne, sur Classcraft et les médias socionumériques. Pour ce faire, la recherche fait appel à diverses méthodes : analyse sémiotique de la plateforme, observation non participante en classe, entretiens individuels, sondages, analyse de l’utilisation des médias socionumériques par les enseignants et analyse des données produites sur la plateforme (Big Data).

fr_CAFR
en_CAEN fr_CAFR