Research team

Jonathan Bonneau

Jonathan Bonneau is a PhD student in Communication at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM). His thesis focuses on how rules affect players’ sense of presence during live-action, tabletop, and video role-playing game sessions. He is a teaching fellow and conference presenter for the School of Media Studies (École des médias) at UQAM. He administers, coordinates, and acts as a research assistant for the Laboratory for Research on Social Media and Gamification (Laboratoire de recherche en médias socionumériques et ludification). He is an active member of three research groups: Hexagram (on creativity and digital arts studies), HomoLudens (on games and communication) and the GRISQ (on information and everyday surveillance). He has written and presented papers about artificial intelligence, biometry, data analysis, gamification, and immersion.

Email: bonneau.jonathan[a]uqam.ca

Patrick Deslauriers

Patrick Deslauriers is a PhD student in Communication and teaching fellow at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM). Recipient of a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) grant, he is a member of the Homo Ludens research group as well as the Interuniversity Center for Research on Communication, Information, and Society (Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la communication, l’information et la société, CRICIS). He has also worked as a research associate for several videogame companies (Behaviour Interactive, Ubisoft, Vandal Games). His thesis focuses on collective passion and protest dynamics within videogame communities. His research interests include communication dynamics and issues within the videogame industry and gaming communities.

Email: deslauriers.patrick[a]gmail.com

Alexandra Dumont

Alexandra Dumont is a PhD student in Communication at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM). Her research interests include the relationships of power between developers and gaming communities, modding, and gambling mechanics in collective mobile games. She is currently a research assistant for the Research Chair on big data and gaming communities and an active member of the Homo Ludens research group at UQAM.

Email: alexandra.b.dumont[a]gmail.com

Antoine Jobin

Antoine Jobin is a PhD student in Communication at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM). His research interests include video games, online gaming communities, the relationship between players and developers, and the issue of performance optimization (Power Gaming, Theorycrafting, Speedrun, Esport). He is currently a research assistant for the Research Chair on big data and gaming communities and an active member of the Homo Ludens research group.

 

Email: jobin.antoine[a]courrier.uqam.ca

Laura Iseut Lafrance St-Martin

Laura Iseut Lafrance St-Martin is a PhD student in Semiology at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM) for which she was awarded a scholarship from the Quebec Research fund – Society and Culture (FRQSC). Her thesis focuses on J. R. R. Tolkien’s semiotic theory. She is a research assistant for the Research Chair on big data and gaming communities and an active member of the Homo Ludens research group and the Research Group on Everyday Information and Surveillance (GRISQ). She has written journal articles and book chapters about video games, gaming communities, and the semiotic analysis of big data.

Email: iseut.lafrance[a]gmail.com

Louis-David Lalancette-Renaud

Louis-David L. Renaud in a Master’s student in Communication, majoring in Video Games and Gamification, at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM). His Master’s thesis focuses on gamification, ClassCraft, and motivation. Keenly pursuing an eclectic career, he completed a Computer Science course at Cégep de St-Félicien in 2002, a Bachelor’s in History at the University of Montreal in 2007, and has worked in international cooperation for a number of years. His interests in the field of videogaming are just as broad, including retrogaming, e-sports, gamification, and big data. He is currently a research assistant for Maude Bonenfant, a member of the Quebec E-Sport Federation Executive Board (Fédération québécoise de sports électroniques, FQSE), a member of the Homo Ludens research group at UQAM, and webmaster at Vectis.ca. He can be reached through his website: louisdavid.net (and yes, he’s also a graphic and web designer).

Email: louisdavid[a]gmail.com

Émilie Paquin

Émilie Paquin is currently finishing her Master’s thesis in Communication, majoring in Video Games and Gamification, at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM). In the last few years, her research has focused on group dynamics in gaming communities, role-playing games, and gamification. Always on the lookout for new challenges, she contributes to several student projects within the Homo Ludens research group at UQAM, through which she has acquired numerous digital editing skills. She is also a co-administrator and editor of the podcast and platform Vectis, and blogs at Jeux.ca.

Email: emiliepaquin21[a]gmail.com

Fabien Richert

Fabien Richert is a PhD candidate in Semiology at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM). His thesis examines the work of philosopher and psychoanalyst Félix Guattari through the lens of an emancipatory critique of society. He is a member of the Homo Ludens research group and the Research Group on Everyday Information and Surveillance (GRISQ) at UQAM. His research elaborates a critical approach to new forms of subjectivation and symbolic mediation in semiocapitalist times.

Email: richert.fabien[a]uqam.ca

Matthieu Tisserand

Matthieu Tisserand is a Master’s student in Communication, majoring in Video Games and Gamification, at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM). His Master’s thesis focuses on the relationship between gamification and motivation, especially in the case of video game design for academic motivation. After graduating with a Bachelor’s (Licence) in Education from the University of Lorraine and a Master’s in Teaching, Education, and Training at the Bourgogne Catholic University Center (Centre Universitaire Catholique de Bourgogne), he left France to study in Quebec. His passion for video game studies led him to complete a Certificate in video game studies at the University of Montreal before entering the Master’s program at UQAM. Eager to contribute to emerging scholarship, he acts as a research assistant for Maude Bonenfant and is involved in the Homo Ludens research group at UQAM.

Email: tisserand.matthieu[a]courrier.uqam.ca

en_CAEN
fr_CAFR en_CAEN

Membres de l’équipe

Jonathan Bonneau

Jonathan Bonneau est doctorant en communication à l'Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Sa thèse porte sur l'effet des règles sur le sentiment de présence durant les séances de jeux de rôle en grandeur nature, sur table et vidéo. Il travaille en tant que chargé de cours et conférencier pour l'École des médias de l'UQAM et est administrateur, coordonnateur et assistant de recherche pour le Laboratoire de recherche en médias socionumériques et ludification. Il est aussi membre actif de trois groupes de recherche: Hexagram (sur la création et l'étude des arts numériques), HomoLudens (sur le jeu et la communication) et GRISQ (sur l'information et la surveillance au quotidien). Ses communications et publications sont spécialisées sur l'intelligence artificielle, la biométrie, l'analyse de données, la ludification et l'immersion.

Courriel : bonneau.jonathan[a]uqam.ca

Patrick Deslauriers

Patrick Deslauriers est doctorant en communication et chargé de cours à l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Boursier du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), membre du groupe de recherche Homo Ludens et du Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la communication, l’information et la société (CRICIS), il a aussi travaillé en tant qu’adjoint de recherche en partenariat avec divers studios de jeu vidéo (Behaviour Interactive, Ubisoft, Vandal Games). Sa thèse doctorale s’intéresse aux phénomènes d’engouement et de contestation au sein des communautés de jeux vidéo. Ses intérêts de recherche portent notamment sur les rapports et enjeux de communication au sein de l’industrie du jeu vidéo et des communautés de joueurs.

Courriel : deslauriers.patrick[a]gmail.com

Alexane Couturier

Alexane Couturier est doctorante en études sémiotiques à l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Boursière des Fonds de Recherche du Québec – Société et Culture (FRQSC), elle est également membre active du groupe de recherche Homo Ludens ainsi que du comité éditorial de la revue COMMposite. Ancrés dans une approche sémio-pragmatique, ses intérêts de recherche l’ont amenée à s’interroger sur les stratégies ludonarratives utilisées pour intégrer des éléments historiques dans les jeux vidéo. À l’occasion du centenaire de la Première Guerre mondiale, elle a exploré à travers son mémoire de maîtrise les effets de sens du design de jeu sur les représentations de cette période particulière. Plus largement, elle s’intéresse également au potentiel critique et expressif des jeux vidéo, à la propagande et à la censure ainsi qu’à l’immersion dans les espaces vidéoludiques.

Courriel : couturier.alexane[a]courrier.uqam.ca

Alexandra Dumont

Alexandra Dumont est doctorante en communication à l'Université du Québec à Montréal. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les rapports de pouvoir existant entre les communautés de joueurs et les développeurs, la pratique du modding ainsi que les mécanismes de loterie dans les jeux mobiles à caractère social. Elle est présentement assistante de recherche  pour la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les données massives et les communautés de joueurs, en plus de participer au  groupe de recherche Homo Ludens sur le jeu et la communication.

Courriel : alexandra.b.dumont[a]gmail.com

Antoine Jobin

Antoine Jobin est doctorant en communication à l'Université du Québec à Montréal. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les théories du jeu, les communautés de joueurs en ligne, les rapports existants entre joueurs et développeurs ainsi que sur les enjeux liés à l'optimisation des performances vidéoludiques (Power Gaming, Theorycrafting, Speedrun, Esport). Il est présentement assistant de recherche pour la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les données massives et les communautés de joueurs en plus d’être un membre actif du groupe de recherche Homo Ludens sur le jeu et la communication.

 

Courriel : jobin.antoine[a]courrier.uqam.ca

Laura Iseut Lafrance St-Martin

Laura Iseut Lafrance St-Martin est doctorante en sémiologie à l'Université du Québec à Montréal et boursière du Fonds de Recherche du Québec - Société et Culture (FRQSC). Sa thèse porte sur la théorie sémiotique de J.R.R. Tolkien. Elle travaille comme assistante de recherche pour la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les données massives et les communautés de joueurs. Elle est membre active de deux groupes de recherche : Homo Ludens (sur le jeu et la communication ) et GRISQ (sur l'information et la surveillance au quotidien). Elle a écrit des articles et des chapitres sur les jeux vidéo, les communautés de joueurs et l'analyse sémiotique des données massives.

Courriel : iseut.lafrance[a]gmail.com

Louis-David Lalancette-Renaud

Louis-David L. Renaud est candidat à la maitrise en communication, concentration Jeux vidéo et ludification. Son sujet de mémoire concerne la ludification, ClassCraft et la motivation. Abonné au parcours éclectique, il a complété une technique en informatique au Cégep de St-Félicien en 2002, un baccalauréat en histoire à l’Université de Montréal en 2007 et a travaillé en coopération internationale. Ses intérêts en jeux vidéo sont tout aussi variés : retrogaming, sport électronique, ludification et big data. Actuellement, il est assistant de recherche pour Maude Bonenfant, membre du conseil d’administration de la Fédération québécoise de sports électroniques (FQSE), s’implique avec le groupe de recherche Homo Ludens à l’UQAM et est webmestre du site web Vectis.ca. Vous pouvez le contacter sur son site web : louisdavid.net (oui, il est aussi graphiste et designer web).

Courriel: louisdavid[a]gmail.com

Émilie Paquin

Émilie Paquin est une étudiante finissante de l’Université du Québec à Montréal à la maîtrise en communication profil jeux vidéo et ludification. Depuis les dernières années, ses intérêts de recherche sont surtout axés sur les dynamiques de groupe de joueurs, les jeux de rôle, la ludification et les communautés vidéoludiques. Toujours en quête de nouveaux défis, elle s’implique dans divers projets étudiants dans le groupe de recherche Homo Ludens à l’UQAM et a fait l’acquisition de plusieurs talents dans le domaine des plateformes numériques. Entre autres, elle est rédactrice et co-administratrice de la plateforme et du Podcast Vectis et rédactrice à Jeux.ca.

Courriel : emiliepaquin21[a]gmail.com

Fabien Richert

Fabien Richert est doctorant en sémiologie à l’Université du Québec à Montréal et a réalisé une thèse sur l’œuvre du philosophe et psychanalyste Félix Guattari interrogée sous l’angle d’une critique émancipatrice du monde social. Membre de Homo Ludens et du GRISQ (Groupe de Recherche sur l’Information et la Surveillance au Quotidien), il oriente ses recherches vers le développement d’une approche critique des nouvelles formes de subjectivation et de médiations symboliques à l’ère du sémiocapitalisme.

Courriel : richert.fabien[a]uqam.ca

Matthieu Tisserand

Matthieu Tisserand est candidat à la maîtrise en communication, profil jeux vidéo et ludification à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Son mémoire porte sur la relation entre la ludification et la motivation, avec un intérêt particulier pour la création du jeu vidéo à des fins de motivation scolaire. C’est après avoir complété une licence à l’Université de Lorraine (Sciences de l’Éducation) et un Master au Centre Universitaire Catholique de Bourgogne (Enseignement, Éducation et Formation) qu’il a quitté la France pour étudier au Québec. Passionné par l’étude du jeu vidéo, il a complété un certificat en Études du jeu vidéo à l’Université de Montréal avant d’entamer sa maîtrise à l’UQAM. Toujours prêt à s’impliquer dans le monde académique universitaire, il est assistant de recherche pour Maude Bonenfant et il participe au groupe de recherche Homo Ludens à l’UQAM.

Courriel : tisserand.matthieu[a]courrier.uqam.ca

fr_CAFR
en_CAEN fr_CAFR